Skip to content

A Twelve Pack A Month

November 3, 2007

I forgot to share what I got Lawrence for his birthday. He is a hard, hard person to shop for. He doesn’t have any hobbies that he regularly pursues and the ones he enjoys, we can’t afford. He loves tools, but I don’t know a good tool from a bad or what he needs and doesn’t need or already has. These are the things he enjoys doing: working, eating, sleeping, and a good beer every now and then.

That leaves four possible gifts in my mind: tools (out for aforementioned reasons), good dark chocolate (already purchased by the girls for their gifts and he still has some leftover from Father’s Day), splurging on really nice sheets (he is hard to get sheets for because he likes them to feel just right, and it feels kind of weird to buy sheets for a man’s birthday), and beer.

Ah, beer. I think I can work with that option. How about a beer of the month club? That is just what I did. Lawrence now has a three month beer of the month club membership. He gets twelve beers delivered to our front door once per month from up to four different breweries. He really liked his gift. It is a splurge on an item that he truly enjoys and I was glad that I went ahead and did it. I thought that he might think it was cheesy, but he was touched. Now, I hope they don’t send them from tacky or low quality breweries. This particular company was rated very highly at a site that rates beer of the month clubs, so I’m hopeful. I will report in a month or so, as his first shipment ships out the end of November.

Note: Angelina, I hope you aren’t too disappointed. I know you don’t expect everyone else to follow your local challenge, but this is really not in the spirit of shopping locally, unless some of the breweries are local ones, which is entirely possible since we have so many good breweries around here.

Another note: I also forgot to tell you all that we were actually early to Maddy’s orthodontist appointment Thursday. That is huge, you all probably don’t even understand the enormity of that. I might have to change the name of my blog if that keeps happening!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    November 3, 2007 10:27 pm

    I like the new look of your blog. If this beer club is as good as the one you and Lawrence did for me a few years back, he will really enjoy it. I got some really good beer and a number of them were even from Oregon.
    Hooray for you all making it early. I know with all you do it is really difficult.
    Mom

  2. Lisa permalink
    November 4, 2007 1:16 am

    Thanks. I think it’s nice and autumn-y. How long ago did we get that for you? I vaguely remember, but not clearly. That must have been when Isabel was a baby, because I don’t remember a lot that happened in that time frame!

  3. Evelyn permalink
    November 4, 2007 2:33 pm

    I was trying to remember when it was and I can’t remember either. Sorry! I do remember that it was a very nice and thoughtful gift(yours always are and I really like that)and Mike and I enjoyed them together and I really looked forward to each one to see what different ones I would get.
    Mom

  4. suchsimplepleasures permalink
    November 4, 2007 7:33 pm

    beer of the month? what a great idea! i never know what to get my husband and that is perfect!! thank you. so glad i randomized and found your blog!

  5. Lisa permalink
    November 4, 2007 7:47 pm

    It sure saved me when it was the morning of his birthday and I still had no gift! What to give the man who has…difficult tastes.

  6. Angelina permalink
    November 5, 2007 9:04 pm

    I think that’s a great gift! When it comes to birthdays and other special occasions I don’t think you need to worry about local. Besides, you already are so tuned into local that you may as well be doing the challenge yourself.

Leave a Reply

