Skip to content

This Week in Snippets

November 1, 2007

This has been a pretty crazy week with some occasions of note. I will try to share the interesting things with you, if I can remember them. They are kind of running together. We are having beautiful, dry, crisp fall weather. I remember that much.

Tuesday I got to run some more power tools helping Lawrence at the shop.

Yesterday was, of course, Halloween, which has prep work involved just in itself (assuming you observe it). Having Lawrence’s birthday on Halloween adds another layer of preparations. I always have the intention of starting our pumpkin carvings before Halloween, and I usually end up carving them on the afternoon of Halloween. I was ahead of the game and we had started choosing patterns that morning, when I got a phone call from my sleep-deprived hubby that he needed me to drive out to the coast to bring forgotten items to him: a check for the crane operator, drawings, and his cell phone. I didn’t need a four hour interruption, but it was unavoidable. We packed up and dashed to the shop, then out to the coast. At least I got some pictures for you all. I also got to see Lawrence straddling a beam to bolt another beam to it while the crane was lowering it (not the one he was sitting on) and the cliff and sea are right there. I could feel my blood pressure spiking. I also got to finally meet our customer (who looks just like a slightly older Owen Wilson) who apparently has heard about my fear of water, dislike of the coast and fear of tsunamis. Thanks for sharing all that Lawrence!

Maddy cut out the stencils while we were driving and we got to work when we got home. Isabel carved her own for the first time. Maddy did hers, of course, and I did mine and Juliana’s. My little trick-or-treaters were an old lady (Maddy), Belle (Isabel) and a cow (Juliana). We went out trick-or-treating with some friends and then Lawrence called when he got home (8:00) so that we could have his birthday dinner of vegetable stew with red snapper and crusty bread and his birthday dessert (tiramisu) before he fell showered and fell asleep.

This is my pumpkin, for some reason photos of the others didn’t come out.

It’s really unfortunate that all this work is falling during our busiest birthday season and he is missing a lot. That darn unsummery summer weather really threw us off in a major way. He is now trying to fit about three months of work into one because of the deadlines that are now here on work we accepted months ago.

Today was another big day for Maddy. She got her braces on and I had to make our down payment for them (ouch!).

Just a random pet peeve. I hate it when people call their boyfriend, girlfriend, spouse, significant other “baby”. As in, “Thanks, baby” or “Come here, baby”.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. adriana permalink
    November 2, 2007 11:10 pm

    I agree on the baby thing and personally only do it for ironic effects. I find it even more icky when they call their significant other “Mama” or “Papa” or the equivalents. Yiiiish.

    The kids are so adorable, I could plotz. I totally endorse Belle as the best Disney Princess by a long shot.

  2. Lisa permalink
    November 3, 2007 12:00 am

    I hear you. Lawrence and I don’t have pet names for each other, so when we do call each other “honey” or “sweetheart” it is all for the irony.

    It was either Belle or Snow White and Belle won out.

  3. Prairie Momma permalink
    November 3, 2007 5:31 pm

    OK. I’m guilty. I call John Daddy sometimes when the children are around. Does that count? (Daddy, do you want Joshua to go do whatever??) I’ve also been guilty of calling John “Babe” only because he and the children look at me like I’ve totally lost it – which I probably did.

    Glad to hear things are going well with the business. We enjoyed a wonderful evening with a friend who is a master blacksmith. He does absolutly gorgeous work and sent the children home with horse picks and a leaf that we watched him make. I just love what these talented men can do with a hard piece of metal.

  4. Angelina permalink
    November 3, 2007 5:39 pm

    I’m with you on the “baby” thing. It kind of gives me the heebie jeebies. We do call each other Sweetie and such though. I don’t do it ironically but it is kind of ironic because I dislike all sweet nick names between couples. I don’t know how I developed the habit myself.

    The girls are very cute!

    I didn’t know you didn’t like the coast, though I share your fear of tsunamis. We have discussed this. Plus the fear of heights. I share that one too.

  5. Lisa permalink
    November 3, 2007 6:41 pm

    Cathy-I think that calling each other Mommy or Daddy for the benefit of the children gets a free pass. I do that myself, but when people use those as pet names for each other, especially when there are no kids involved or the kids are gone, it’s just really weird to me. Lawrence would love to do real blacksmithing, it’s costly though because of investing in a forge and such. It’s also a very specialized market because it is such artisinal work that people don’t see the reason that it costs more, therefore the average person isn’t willing to pay for it.

    Angelina-I’ve never heard you call Philip “sweetie”, I would have never guessed you did; it seems so out of character for you. I dislike the coast because I am uncomfortable with the ocean. I get something that is not quite as advanced as a panic attack, but I definitely am very uncomfortable there. I think it is beautiful in general, but so out of my control. It’s so immense and I think that is what scares me.

  6. Prairie Momma permalink
    November 4, 2007 12:48 am

    I am glad I live in the desert. I have to say my biggest fear is to die by drowning – very ironic since I lived by a lake and jumped off 20 foot cliffs with only minor fear. So, I don’t think I could live by the ocean – but I’m not throwing that out there as a fleece for God.

  7. Lisa permalink
    November 4, 2007 1:17 am

    Yeah, fear of drowning is pretty high up there for me too. Fear of fire is as well.

Leave a Reply

