Skip to content

My Big Fat Greek Dinner

October 29, 2007

We love Greek food around here. Not having a Greek restaurant close by or the funds to frequent one even if we did, I have learned to cook some Greek dishes reasonably well. Last week, we were eating pastitsio, which is a pasta casserole dish with a bechamel sauce and tomato based meat sauce. Lawrence asked if we had any galatoboureko for dessert, this is a semolina custard with filo on the top and bottom drenched in a lemon infused simple syrup. I had never made galatoboureko before, so it was an unexpected request.

I had tiropitas (cheese triangles) and Greek salad on the menu this week, because last week when I made my menu tiropitas sounded delicious, but the girls had their heart set on pastitsio and two Greek meals in one week would be over the top. I decided to try my hand at galatoboureko and surprise Lawrence. He has been working so hard that I also thought it would cheer him up. We took dinner to him last night because he was working very late at the shop and it was a wonderful surprise for him. He even told me that galatoboureko is his favorite Greek dessert. Why didn’t he tell me this before?? The galatoboureko turned out to be divine.

Tiropitas

Galatoboureko
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    October 29, 2007 8:04 pm

    It looks heavenly!

  2. Angeleen permalink
    October 29, 2007 9:12 pm

    ::drool::

  3. Angelina permalink
    November 1, 2007 5:14 pm

    Oh, I’ll take half of that please. What do you mean that you cook Greek food “reasonably well”. Are you kidding?! You make fantastic Greek food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    (Did my abuse of exclamation points make my case for me?)

  4. Lisa permalink
    November 2, 2007 12:13 am

    Aw, you’re too kind Angelina. We have to get together for another Big Fat Greek Dinner!

  5. CityGarden permalink
    June 3, 2008 12:54 am

    ok! I have problem with english and you have problem with greek
    ๐Ÿ˜›

    But if you cook greek you must learn the right names of your recipes
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    It’s not tiropitas. It’s tiropita (one) and tiropites (if you have more). But if are small we call them tiropitaki (one) or tiropitakia (if you have more).

    And the dessert is galaktoboureko (with k)(gala is milk and galaktos is something made with milk)

Leave a Reply

