Skip to content

A Hard Working Woman

October 26, 2007

Remember how I told you that Lawrence is up to his eyeballs in work? Well, it was all hands on board yesterday in the shop. Lawrence had no idea how he was going to make a deadline he had today (which, incidentally, he still didn’t make and I’m sure we had to pay an crane service $115/hour for waiting on him due to unanticipated things including truck problems) so I had the opportunity to help him with actual work. This is usually not possible, because a shop isn’t really an ideal place for little ones to run around, but Lawrence had to pick up some weldments in Portland, so he took Isabel and Juliana with him and left Maddy and me painting and left me instructions on how to power brush (a big grinder with a metal brush attachment) a beam.

Without his critical*, watchful eye I decided to pick it up and give it a whirl. Golly, those things are so heavy. I have a true appreciation (greater) for all that Lawrence does. It is so physically tiring. I brushed about half the beam though, and we completed the painting, so it was a real help for Lawrence. Yesterday it was truly a family-run business!

Today besides worrying about Lawrence getting to the coast so that we could minimize our crane expense, I had to take Maddy to the dentist for step one of her braces: four extractions. That was fun and painful (for our pocketbook as well as Maddy’s mouth). She is doing fine now; being numb was the most bothersome thing for her because it was her entire mouth, since the teeth were in all four quadrants (funny how quickly one can revert to technical jargon). I took a few nice fall pictures while we were out and I will try to post some later.

*Since the tools are expensive and a huge part of our business and I am inexperienced, he has every reason to be critical. It is hard to really give it a go sometimes if you know somebody is scrutinizing you, though.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    October 26, 2007 11:24 am

    Poor Maddy! Give her a hug for me. Congratulations on the work you did. Isn’t it gratifying to accomplish something like that?
    Mom

  2. Angelina permalink
    October 26, 2007 5:59 pm

    I’m so sorry for Maddy! It’s good to just get it over with.

    Darn it, I should have been there helping too.

    I’d say you’re a hard working family all the time.

  3. Lisa permalink
    October 26, 2007 8:39 pm

    Maddy’s doing fine today, just in case you all were wondering!

Leave a Reply

