Skip to content

Crafter’s Block

October 24, 2007

I have come to a block. Not a writer’s block but a crafter’s block. I traditionally make a special gift for each girl for Christmas. This year I am coming up blank though. I’ve made topsyturvy dolls, quilts, hats, doll blankies and pillows and things that I can’t even remember now. I really dislike making clothing.

What can I make this year? Do any of you crafty types have any suggestions? I’m looking for a gift that would be cherished and used, not something that will go on a shelf to be admired. I would ideally like something that I can make color/size variations for each girl, but will essentially be the same. However, I can make exceptions and do different gifts for each girl if I couldn’t find anything that would fit all of them. Juliana doesn’t have a quilt or a doll, so I might do one of those for her. The end of October is approaching and I need to get busy or they won’t be ready in time.

One thought I had was stockings, the kind you fill up for Christmas, but this will only be used at Christmas time, it would be used every year, however. I’m not convinced that’s the gift I should make. Help!

PS I can sew and crochet, that’s pretty much the extent of my skills.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    October 24, 2007 5:04 pm

    What about something like a fabric covered momemto, treasure or jewelry box?
    Mom

  2. Lisa permalink
    October 24, 2007 5:08 pm

    That’s a good idea. Maddy just got one for her birthday, but I can keep that as a backup idea or one for Isabel. Oh, that made me think of embroidering pillowcases for the girls for some reason. I though of that months ago and am now just remembering. I just need to learn to embroider now!

  3. Anonymous permalink
    October 24, 2007 5:55 pm

    That’s a good idea! I used to embroider. I really enjoyed it.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

