Skip to content

The Sandwich of Monte Cristo

October 19, 2007

Dang. Three posts in one day has got to be a record for me. I just needed to take this time to have another little educational post. Angelina came over for an impromptu coffee chat this morning. On a side note: Isn’t it great when your friends feel comfortable enough to drop in on you in the morning without prior notice? I say this honestly without any trace of sarcasm, because you can’t do that with everyone. Back to the matter at hand. I was shocked, SHOCKED to find out that Angelina, who I consider very knowledgeable about food and cuisine didn’t know what a Monte Cristo sandwich is. Please tell me she is the only one of you without this vital piece of sandwich knowledge. This revelation came about in a little confessional session of the weird way we like our eggs. I think I will keep mine a secret because most people find it kind of gross.

On a very unrelated topic, yesterday I darn near ruined the gift I was making. Damn those buttonholes! I knew I should have asked for help or found another method. I had to do some quick thinking to fix it.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Angeleen permalink
    October 19, 2007 9:04 pm

    Yea, I know what a Mone Christo is, but now I REALLY want to know the “gross” way you like to eat your eggs…

    … and you KNOW you want to tell us or else you wouldn’t have brougt it up only to say you shouldn’t talk about it.

    Sister, that’s just a great big ol’ cry for help if I’ve ever read one.

    C’mon… spill it.

  2. Angelina permalink
    October 19, 2007 11:24 pm

    I won’t tell.

    But I’m fine about everyone knowing I like KETCHUP on my eggs. And I won’t be able to have them with ketchup for a year. OY.

    I think I should be excused from knowing what a Monte Christo sandwich is because I was raised as a vegetarian.

  3. Angeleen permalink
    October 19, 2007 11:43 pm

    You know, Angelina, I’ll bet you could make some righteous ketchup with your roasted tomatoes, some vinegar and a spice or two… Hmmmmm.

  4. Lisa permalink
    October 20, 2007 12:32 am

    Okay Angeleen, I’ll tell you if you promise not to make gagging noises even if you think it’s gross. I have an egg sandwich several times per week, because it is quick, easy and filling. I have butter, jam, eggs, cheese and Tabasco brand chipotle sauce inside the toast.

    I don’t know, about an excuse Angelina, if you didn’t like ketchup on your eggs, I might be able to easy give you an excuse, but the ketchup thing coupled with not knowing what a Monte Cristo sandwich is…hmmm…that’s a tough one.

  5. Laura permalink
    October 23, 2007 1:09 am

    I like ketchup on my eggs.

  6. Lisa permalink
    October 23, 2007 4:35 am

    I only like ketchup on my eggs if they have potatoes in it.

  7. Lisa permalink
    October 23, 2007 4:35 am

    I only like ketchup on my eggs if they have potatoes in it.

Leave a Reply

