Skip to content

Christmas Every Month

October 19, 2007

Have I ever mentioned how much I like delivery day for my Azure Standard monthly bulk order?

We eagerly await Jeff’s (the driver) call with a delivery time, meet him at the Walmart parking lot (a deliciously subversive feeling) and wait for him throw open the doors of the truck and start passing out packages. We wait for him to call our name and bestow us with a package. The best thing? You know that you are going to want what is in that box because you ordered it! This is not always the case on Christmas morning. Who hasn’t opened that package containing a hideous something that surely can’t even be regifted?

This month’s delivery was not quite as fun as normal because Jeff had an unprecedented number of drops, which put him many hours behind schedule and left us picking up our order at about 10:15pm (would have been perfect if it was a Saturday night) in the pouring rain with a huge huddle of vehicles circled around the rear of the semi and us shivering in the cold.

The other thing that’s nifty about this is looking at what the other people in our ordering group ordered. It’s kind of a personal thing viewing people from this light. You don’t go looking in people’s cart at the grocery store, even though sometimes you kind of want to. When you are helping to load other people up at the drop, you get to see what they got and sometimes wish you had ordered it as well. I know this was the case when Jeff handed down my case of strawberry creme sorbet last night.

Then you get home and get to open your packed boxes and it’s another tiny thrill. Does it take a special person to get excited about a food order? Maybe so. Perhaps I’m odd, but it makes me happy…all that possibility.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    October 19, 2007 7:51 pm

    I would feel like it was Christmad too! Someday maybe I will get to be standing there with you waiting for my order! That would be great!
    Mom

  2. Angelina permalink
    October 19, 2007 11:21 pm

    I don’t think that’s weird at all. I get just as excited as you do. I actually do look at what’s in other people’s shopping carts. I’m especially bold when I’m behind someone at the check out and there’s nothing else to look at but what’s on the counter in front of you.

  3. Angelina permalink
    October 19, 2007 11:21 pm

    I don’t think that’s weird at all. I get just as excited as you do. I actually do look at what’s in other people’s shopping carts. I’m especially bold when I’m behind someone at the check out and there’s nothing else to look at but what’s on the counter in front of you.

Leave a Reply

