Skip to content

The Title to Begin All Titles

October 17, 2007

So, I guess I will start titling my posts so that you all can easily permalink to them if you’d like.

Today I’m going to officially kick off our Geek Week of Words. It will start today and end next Tuesday.

Today’s word: fecundity

–noun
1. the quality of being fecund; capacity, esp. in female animals, of producing young in great numbers.
2. fruitfulness or fertility, as of the earth.
3. the capacity of abundant production: fecundity of imagination


This is a word that I don’t particularly like to say. The sound reminds me of fecal matter, and I don’t want that rolling off the tongue.

It is used liberally in D.H. Lawrence’s The Rainbow, and apparently caused quite a stir at the time. I was reading this book when I met Lawrence (my Lawrence, not the author).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Angelina permalink
    October 18, 2007 6:38 pm

    I don’t like this word either but I know I’ve used it at least once in writing and kind of enjoyed using it. It’s kind of hard and definitely sounds dirty (not in a sexy way). It always reminds me of the movie “Cold Comfort Farm” when Stephen Fry uses it in a scene with Kate Bekinsale. Totally funny.

  2. Lisa permalink
    October 18, 2007 7:01 pm

    I’ve never seen Cold Comfort Farm. Do you mean the scene was totally funny or the whole movie? I’m wondering if I would like it.

Leave a Reply

