Skip to content

October 9, 2007

Things got pretty hot and steamy around here this weekend. That’s what happens when you do canning and it’s cold outside.

We picked forty pounds of apples on Saturday afternoon. They were organic and $.20/pound, so I couldn’t really pass it up.
I decided to sauce all of them, so I put the kitchen crew to work washing and cutting (not the little two, of course!).

I even purchased a food mill for the occasion. I have been wanting one, but hadn’t ever gotten it, but making applesauce without some kind of gadget would have been very tedious and tiring.

I got 12 quarts of applesauce and then had to freeze the remainder because I ran out of jars. I have frozen 10 pints and have probably another 6-8 pints from the applesauce that is cooling.

The past four days have actually been pretty busy around here in the food department. Here are some other noteworthy accomplishments:

  • My green coffee beans arrived, all fifteen pounds of them.*
  • I decanted my fourth batch of kombucha.
  • Froze the free basil that the apple farmer gave me.
  • Roasted green chiles from my garden.
  • Made a batch of yogurt, tutorial to follow next week. I thought about doing it this week, but just didn’t have enough time or counter space when I was actually making it. This, like coffee roasting, uses another unexpected household appliance. (I guess you would call it an appliance.)
  • Whipped out a batch of homemade tortillas from my grandma’s recipe to make quesedillas using thinly sliced green tomatoes as part of the filling. This was on the suggestion of a commenter at Lucky Seven Cat Ranch blog. To bad it only used one tomato, because I really have lots more than that. I think I may attempt fried green tomatoes soon.

*When the mailman came on Friday, I asked Maddy to get the package because I knew it would be the coffee. He asked for me instead and told me that he thought it would have been too heavy for Maddy. Then offhand as he is leaving he tells me, “Your husband is a real smart ass isn’t he?” Knowing that he is, but wondering why the mailman knows this as well, I answer in the affirmative. He goes on to tell me, “I saw him at the welding store and asked him if you were home.” Lawrence apparently answered to the mailman, “I think she is and I’ve been wondering why all my children look different.” Funny things can happen in small towns. The welding store is only a couple blocks from our house, so we are on the same route. Just to clarify any other confusion about my relationship with the mailman! I can only assume that he wanted to make sure I was home before he lugged the 15 pound package up the stairs.

EDIT: After bagging up the remaining applesauce, the grand total came to: 12 quarts and 19 pints.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    October 9, 2007 5:53 pm

    I can just hear Lawrence telling the mailman that. lol The applesauce and tortillas look wonderful. I remember when you, Laura and I used to make applesauce when you girls were little. Oh how I always enjoyed doing those things with you and Laura. I am so glad you are able to share that with your daughters.

  2. Angeleen permalink
    October 9, 2007 8:23 pm

    LOL! I love that story… especially having met the VERY blue-eyed Isabel!

    It’s good to have a hubby with a sense of humor, isn’t it?! 🙂

  3. Lisa permalink
    October 9, 2007 8:34 pm

    Mom, I was thinking of those days, too.

    Angeleen, see you wanted to know what Lawrence was like, this will give you a teeny glimpse!

  4. Angeleen permalink
    October 9, 2007 8:53 pm

    OH! I need that tortilla recipe.

    SERIOUSLY!

    There is NOTHING on this planet like fresh, homemade tortillas. YUM!

    You totally ROCK, Girlfriend! I’m so envious of your productivity. I don’t know why but I’m packin’ all the ambition of a slug lately.

  5. Angeleen permalink
    October 9, 2007 8:53 pm

    OH! I need that tortilla recipe.

    SERIOUSLY!

    There is NOTHING on this planet like fresh, homemade tortillas. YUM!

    You totally ROCK, Girlfriend! I’m so envious of your productivity. I don’t know why but I’m packin’ all the ambition of a slug lately.

  6. Anonymous permalink
    October 10, 2007 6:13 pm

    Mmmmmmmm. Fried green tomatoes! It’s an acquired taste, I think. But, I love ’em!
    Aunt K

  7. Lisa permalink
    October 10, 2007 8:32 pm

    Angeleen: Really, you shouldn’t be jealous of my productivity, because I did get all that food stuff done, but the rest of my house (and cooking responsibilities) fell into disrepair during those few days. I’m busily trying to rediscover my dining table and living room floor along with installing our new DVD player that arrived on Monday, but has been ignored until today. I will email you my tortilla recipe.

    Aunt K: Do you have a fried green tomato recipe that you could pass my way?

  8. Angelina permalink
    October 10, 2007 10:16 pm

    I am very impressed too. I only got about eight pints of apple sauce and am really wishing I could have gone out to pick apples there too. Unfortunately my back was too tired and I had to do my weird mustard pickles.

    Perhaps after my house gets back into shape and I get a handle on everything that is NOT done around here I’ll still have a chance to make more apple sauce. Not at such a great price though.

  9. Lisa permalink
    October 10, 2007 10:25 pm

    Angelina, I just checked Craigslist and they are going to have the orchard open again this weekend. The price has gone up to $.25/pound for under 150 pounds. They are touting them as cider apples, but with a little sugar they did great as applesauce.

  10. Angeleen permalink
    October 11, 2007 1:45 am

    “House in order…”

    Hmmmm… can someone please explain this completely foreign concept to me?

    Thanks!
    🙂

  11. Lisa permalink
    October 11, 2007 1:50 am

    I mean it very loosely!

  12. Anonymous permalink
    October 11, 2007 6:22 pm

    Lisa, I don’t have a specific recipe. I do it like fried trout: a little flour & cornmeal mixed, then fried in butter/oil.
    They have a slight bitterness (?) to them, but mmmmmmm. Don’t use a real course cornmeal, use a finer grind. Enjoy!
    Aunt K

  13. Lisa permalink
    October 11, 2007 8:09 pm

    Do you serve them plain or with any kind of dipping sauce? That sounds very simple and now I just need to think of a main dish to pair them with!

  14. Angelina permalink
    October 12, 2007 9:57 pm

    I want to go. Saturday is out but Sunday is probably free. In their ad it said they had both eating apples and pie apples. Which day might you be going?

  15. Lisa permalink
    October 13, 2007 1:24 am

    If I can fit it in, it would probably have to be Sunday. I just scheduled a jaunt to some Art Harvest Studios for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

