Skip to content

October 3, 2007

I spent some of the past two days harvesting fall bounty from my garden. I have perishable vegetables in my kitchen and I have the longer storage ones down in my basement. I still have some things in the garden that need a little more growing time. Some of the spaghetti squashes weren’t golden enough for my taste; I will keep a close eye on them since they are on the ground. I have lots of green tomatoes and almost ripes ones. They will start splitting soon, but I can’t bring myself to pick them yet. Cucumbers are still growing on the vine, though very slowly and my delicata and summer squashes are still producing as well. Sadly my broccoli and cauliflower went to seed along with my lettuce. My cabbage is getting eaten by something; I’m assuming slugs or snails. My chard is flourishing with this wet, cool weather. The chard bed has been steadily producing for more than four months with only one plant bolting in the summer heat.

These are my tomatoes, green chiles, cucumbers and summer squashes from my Sunday picking. Please disregard the clutter on my counter; I have a very small kitchen:

These are my spaghetti and delicata squashes, mini pumpkins and potatoes:

Now, this guy is a mystery. He came off of the spaghetti squash vine. Is it a cross pollination between a spaghetti squash and delicata?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Evelyn permalink
    October 3, 2007 12:35 pm

    Everything looks wonderful! Mike would be so envious of the green chile. He loves it! Enjoy the fruits of your labor.

  2. Angelina permalink
    October 3, 2007 4:06 pm

    Look at all those potatoes!!!!!!!

    You’ve gotten quite a lot of good stuff from your garden. Yay!

    What are you planning to do with some of the more perishable items?

  3. adriana permalink
    October 3, 2007 4:39 pm

    WOWWWWEEEEEEE!!!!
    *drool*

  4. adriana permalink
    October 3, 2007 4:39 pm

    WOWWWWEEEEEEE!!!!
    *drool*

  5. Lisa permalink
    October 3, 2007 6:23 pm

    Mom, I still have more green chiles coming off the plants, too. The bad thing is that they roast down to almost nothing!

    Angelina, I still have more teeny potatoes in the boxes. I’m hoping I’ll have one more small harvest. The potatoe plants are still green and yellow, they haven’t completely died off. We are planning on eating the perishable items soon. We have (mostly the girls) eaten about eight cucumbers since I harvested on Sunday. There were at least twice as many cukes before I took that picture. I am also planning on making Midi Poche tomorrow or Friday and that will use up about four pounds of tomatoes. I think I will have to try fried green tomatoes this year, too.

    Adriana, you and David should come on up and have a few meals with us! Free room, free board, how could you resist?

Leave a Reply

