Skip to content

September 28, 2007

Do any of you have any experience with creating/adding buttons/mini-banners to your blogger template, or even just adding HTML to an image to create a banner or button? I have an image that I want to add to my blog as a banner. Help! I can’t figure it out.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Angeleen permalink
    September 28, 2007 3:14 pm

    Okay. In both of my browsers, you click on “customize.” (top right corner under your bookmarks bar.)

    This opens up “Add and Arrange Page Elements.”

    Look for the “header” section.
    At the bottom, right hand corner you’ll see “Edit”

    Click on that and look for “Image”

    That’s where your new picture goes. Browse your machine to find it.

    When it’s in place, select your Placement (behind or instead of the title and description) with the radio buttons below.

    Voila!

    Hope that helps! 🙂

  2. Lisa permalink
    September 28, 2007 5:05 pm

    It’s actually not my banner I want to change. I want to add a square button at the top of the right column for my soap shop. When I use the Add and Arrange Page Elements feature, it allows me to add the image but not link it to my url and I don’t know how to create it as a button in another program and just use the “Add Third Party or HTML Code” option.

  3. adriana permalink
    September 28, 2007 5:37 pm

    No RSS feed? Pleeeeease add one if you can??

  4. Angeleen permalink
    September 28, 2007 5:43 pm

    Hmmmmm.

    Angelina would be a good one to ask about that since she has it on her blog… I think that’s what you’re talking about anyway. Like her etsy link?

    And, I’m with adriana… “Feed” Me! 😉

  5. Angelina permalink
    September 28, 2007 5:49 pm

    I have no answers to your questions, Angeleen has already helped out, so I’m off the hook.

    I love this new blog look!! So pretty! It may take me a few days to change the link in my links. I’ll get to it though.

  6. Lisa permalink
    September 28, 2007 6:45 pm

    I’m sorry guys. I’ll only be able to feed you if you come to my house and have dinner. Seriously. I have just spent a good chunk of time trying to add an atom feed and you can see in the right column that I have managed to add a feed to my own blog, I can’t figure out how to put a link for you to subscribe. I used to think that I was relatively technologically literate, but now it is revealed that I am not. It’s getting embarrassing really.

    On the issue of the button, I’m not looking to add an Etsy type display, actually, that would be far easier (I think), because I could just paste the HTML that Etsy provides. What I do want is something just like her Dustpan Alley button. You click on her logo button and are magically transported to a shopping heaven. Just can figure out how to combine the image and HTML and then get it in my template.

  7. Angeleen permalink
    September 28, 2007 7:38 pm

    For the RSS thing, go into Settings: Publishing and next to “Send Pings” change to yes.

    Also in Settings go to: Site Feed: Allow Blog Feeds and select full or short.

    The other thing…? I have no idea how to make a picture a link. I just tried to figure it out to no avail, but maybe if you give Angelina a frosty cold one, she’ll make with the technical tips, eh?

  8. Lisa permalink
    September 28, 2007 8:59 pm

    Hey! It’s there. I was just trying to add an extra step. So, you all now have an atom feed for my blog. Whew. Just the picture thing to fix. I think Angelina didn’t do her button, I’m pretty sure that futuregirl did it for her. Sorry, Angelina, if I’m wrong and you did do it. If you did do it, would you do one for me in exchange for a six pack of Sierra Nevada. If somebody else buys it does it violate your local eating guidelines?

  9. Angeleen permalink
    September 28, 2007 9:05 pm

    Yippee! You’re now in my feed.

    Good work!

    🙂

  10. Lisa permalink
    September 28, 2007 9:10 pm

    Thanks. This whole thing has been much more work than I was hoping it would be. Deep down I knew it was going to be time consuming, though. That’s why I put it off for so long. By the way, I got your comment off my old blog and some Fridays will work for us. We have many of our homeschool group’s activities scheduled on Fridays, but not all and some of them we would be fine with skipping too.

  11. Angeleen permalink
    September 28, 2007 9:57 pm

    Cool about the Friday thing!

    Hey, if we spend enough time gazing at cows maybe you could even consider it an agricultural field trip! 🙂

    Let me know which Fridays are good and we’ll make it happen.

    Yea!

Leave a Reply

