Skip to content

September 3, 2007

I have four items of interest/news from this week. The first one is that my dad and step-mom are coming to visit next week. They decided on a spur of the moment to come up here for 10 days, so they are taking the train and heading up. This is especially exciting because my dad really never travels and he hasn’t been up here ever. He got really sick with a foot infection and diabetes earlier this year and it really opened his eyes that nobody is around forever and you have to make the most of your time and experience things. So, we are abuzz in preparation and excitement.

Second, I think we found a new accountant. He is very geeky, not much older than me and was dressed in cargo shorts for our first meeting. He also builds his own computers, so is tech savvy and totally fine with our main form of communication being email (very important when you have three kids with you almost all the time). He had some annoying ticks and expressed his doubts about the efficacy of the Federal Reserve and encouraged us to contact our legislators to get a change in tax laws instead of just griping about taxes. I was immediately comfortable with him.

The third thing is that I finally did it…I cut off about 12 or 14 inches of hair and donated it to Locks of Love again. It is the shortest I have had it since Isabel was a baby. I like it though. If I didn’t hate pictures so much, I would post one of the new ‘do, but as it is, you will have to take my word for it, or ask Lawrence or Angelina; she’s seen it.

And finally, I have always believed that I hated eggplant except for two dishes. I think that I may have been missing out on the goodness of yet another supposedly hated vegetable. I made eggplant parmesan on Saturday following a recipe that Angelina posted on her blog and it was delicious. I am reformed. I do like eggplant, so did the rest of the family, and they were also all professed eggplant haters. Now all vegetables from the nightshade family are welcome at our table.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

