Skip to content

August 23, 2007

I am always surprised when I am reminded of music’s powerful and seemingly magical way of transporting me to a different place and time. This happens to me every so often.

Yesterday when I was listening to the “Unforgettable” music channel on our television, I heard Frank Sinatra singing “I’ve Got You Under My Skin”. This reminded me that it had been years since I had heard the duet that Frank and Bono did with this song. So, I pulled it up on You Tube. I spent a good bit of time pulling up other songs from my high school years. I think because high school is the time I spent the largest percentage of my time and money on music combined with this being some of my formative year, songs from these years have the most powerful transportation effect on me.

It is amazing how I can hear U2’s “Mysterious Ways” and I am back at a high school pep rally with my best friends Summer and Sylvanna. Metallica’s “Enter Sandman”* reminds me of my sophomore boyfriend Michael H. before I broke up with him and he stopped being a metal head; many songs and bands from that era remind me of him actually because he was in my heart long after we broke up. Almost any Cure song from “Wish” reminds me of Summer and also of our desperate crush on Felix, who was a Robert Smith look-alike. Pink Floyd reminds me of my friend Erin’s boyfriend Andy who loved, LOVED them and had the little triangle prism tattooed on his arm as soon as he turned 18. And the Smiths…that reminds me of Stephen who Summer really liked; he thought he was Morrissey’s twin or close. U2’s “Faraway (So Close)” makes me cry almost every time, for some reason. Any Dinosaur Jr. song and it’s my senior boyfriend who comes to mind. It’s so strange how music can return to me the same emotional feelings and recreate the place and time. The only other sense that has comparable powers, to me, is scent.

I don’t listen to nearly as much music as I used to and it’s really a shame that I don’t, because it speaks to me so strongly. I listen to much more classical music than previously, partly because a lot of the music that I enjoy has darker themes than I am comfortable exposing the girls to regularly. I still pull out all my old CD’s or fire up You Tube and crank them up on occasion.

All this nostalgia got me to wondering where my old friends are now. I know where some of them are, but have lost touch with others. One thing that I did yesterday was write a letter to one of my high school best friend’s mom. She was really caring and kind to me when I was in high school. I spent a lot of time at their house and I think that she would be proud of how I have turned out, so I wrote her a letter to let her know how I was doing. She is a membership coordinator at a natural foods co-op and I think she will be surprised and pleased that she is one of the first people who exposed me to a natural lifestyle and now we have converted!

*I didn’t actually listen to Metallica yesterday because I am not a fan of them myself. Just wanted to clarify.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

