Skip to content

Happy Mother’s Day!

May 13, 2007

Happy Mother’s Day today all you moms and grandmothers out there.

In honor of Mother’s Day, Lawrence took the girls out shopping for gifts for me yesterday. The biggest gift was, unintentionally, the time alone in my garden. I spent most of the day yesterday in the garden, but the time that they were away was really the most productive. I finished getting everything planted yesterday, with the exception of the tomatoes, eggplants, peppers and herbs that aren’t big enough yet. I will list for you (and to satisfy my garden geekiness) the things I have in the ground and their status. Tarragon, basil and rosemary I transplanted from starts I bought. Scallions, peas, lettuce, beets, carrots, spinach, radishes, chard and potatoes are all from seed and have sprouted. Onions that I transplanted from seeds I started. Muskmelons, green and yellow squash, cucumbers, spaghetti squash, delicata, green beans and mini pumpkins, that I direct seeded yesterday, but, of course, haven’t sprouted yet. The scallions, lettuce, carrots, beets and radishes have had three plantings so far. I am planting them in succession and I am so happy that I am actually regularly following through with succession planting for the first time!
Here is one of my diligent helpers:

Here is a pretty good view of my garden from inside the gate. Almost all the green you see is plants that I want. There are only a few weeds out. The potato boxes are to the right of the picture. I couldn’t fit it in one photo. You can see my row of peas to the upper left of the wheelbarrow.

I have more yard work on the agenda today. My family protested that I shouldn’t engage in such vigorous activities on Mother’s Day. It’s not a chore if you enjoy it, I had to remind them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

