Skip to content

April 27, 2007

I received an forwarded email this afternoon that really ticked me off (sorry sender, but it did). I won’t reveal who sent it to me, but that person can reveal their identity if they so choose. I just didn’t want you all to think that the sender was the person who made me angry. They were only the messenger. Anyway, here’s the text of the forward, you may have received it yourself:

Written by a housewife from New Jersey and sounds like it! This is one
ticked off lady.

“Are we fighting a war on terror or aren’t we? Was it or was it not started by Islamic people who brought it to our shores on September 11, 2001 ?

Were people from all over the world, mostly Americans, not brutally
murdered that day, in downtown Manhattan , across the Potomac from our nation’s capitol and in a field in Pennsylvania ? Did nearly three thousand men, women and children die a horrible, burning or crushing death that day, or didn’t they?

And I’m supposed to care that a copy of the Koran was “desecrated” when an overworked American soldier kicked it or got it wet?…Well, I don’t. I don’t care at all.

I’ll start caring when Osama bin Laden turns himself in and repents for incinerating all those innocent people on 9/11.

I’ll care about the Koran when the fanatics in the Middle East start caring about the Holy Bible, the mere possession of which is a crime in Saudi Arabia.

I’ll care when these thugs tell the world they are sorry for hacking off Nick Berg’s head while Berg screamed through his gurgling slashed throat.

I’ll care when the cowardly so-called “insurgents” in Iraq come out and fight like men instead of disrespecting their own religion by hiding in mosques.

I’ll care when the mindless zealots who blow themselves up in search of nirvana care about the innocent children within range of their Suicide bombs.

I’ll care when the American media stops pretending that their First Amendment liberties are somehow derived from international law Instead of the United States Constitution’s Bill of Rights.

In the meantime, when I hear a story about a brave marine roughing up an Iraqi terrorist to obtain information, know this: I don’t care.

When I see a fuzzy photo of a pile of naked Iraqi prisoners who have been humiliated in what amounts to a college-hazing incident, rest assured: I don’t care.

When I see a wounded terrorist get shot in the head when he is told not to move because he might be booby-trapped, you can take it to the bank: I don’t care.

When I hear that a prisoner, who was issued a Koran and a prayer mat, and fed “special” food that is paid for by my tax dollars, is complaining that his holy book is being “mishandled,” you can absolutely believe in your heart of hearts: I don’t care.

And oh, by the way, I’ve noticed that sometimes it’s spelled “Koran” and other times “Quran.” Well, Jimmy Crack Corn and -you guessed it – I don’t care ! ! ! ! !

If you agree with this viewpoint, pass this on. Sooner or later, it’ll get to the people responsible for this ridiculous behavior!

If you don’t agree, then by all means hit the delete button. Should you choose the latter, then please don’t complain when more atrocities committed by radical Muslims happen here in our great Country! And may I add:

“Some people spend an entire lifetime wondering if they made a difference in the world. But, the Marines don’t have that problem.”
–Ronald Reagan

I have another quote that I would like to add …….

“If we ever forget that we’re One Nation Under God, then we will be a
nation gone under.”

Also by.. Ronald Reagan

One last thought for the day:

In case we find ourselves starting to believe all the anti-American sentiment and negativity, we should remember England’s Prime Minister Tony Blair’s words during a recent interview when asked by one of his Parliament members why he believes so much in America , he said:

“A simple way to take measure of a country is to look at how many want in…and how many want out.”

Only two defining forces have ever offered to die for you:

1. Jesus Christ
2. The American G. I.

One died for your soul, the other for your freedom.

YOU MIGHT WANT TO PASS THIS ON, AS MANY SEEM TO HAVE FORGOTTEN BOTH OF THEM. AMEN!

My gut reaction was so strong, that I had to write a rebuttal to the sender:

Yep, pretty ticked off and pretty deluded, too.

I disagree with her point of view. I don’t believe it was Islamic terrorists who were solely responsible for 9/11. There is too much evidence to the contrary.

Our government carries much of the responsibility for our current “terror” situation. We are far too involved in the domestic policies of sovereign nations when it isn’t our place. Our founding fathers saw the predicament that interfering in other countries’ affairs would get us into, which is why they specifically wrote about only having trade relationships with other countries and not becoming peace-keepers or a super-power. What right do we have to try to force democracy on another country? This region has been in turmoil and “Christian” nations have tried to forcibly solve these situations for centuries. Why can’t we use the billions and billions of dollars being spent on this war and better our own domestic situation. Why do the richer in power keep getting richer off these wars?

Is killing hundreds of thousands of Iraqi civilians a fair trade-off for instituting democracy and securing Middle Eastern oil?

How is it possible to see the awning we have over part of our driveway on Google Earth, but the US military, supposedly one of the most powerful in the world can’t find Osama bin Laden. Perhaps they aren’t looking very hard; perhaps The US Powers that Be are so involved with The Saudi Arabian Powers that Be that there were behind the scene deals made.

And this woman’s insinuation that our media is guaranteed First Amendment rights by our Bill of Rights rather than international law is laughable. The Bush administration has trampled our civil liberties by the Patriot and Real ID Acts.

This woman’s blatant disrespect for Muslims and their holy book, the Koran, is really disgusting. Joking about Jimmy Crack-corn in the same sentence as pondering the spelling of the Koran is pretty hypocritical considering she was just complaining that it is illegal to own a Bible in Saudi Arabia. Not all Muslims are terrorists. Just because a group of people who happen to be Muslims commits atrocities doesn’t mean we should be disrespectful to all Muslims. If I recall correctly, KKK members claim to be devout Christians, but they certainly don’t represent my beliefs as a Christian. As my mother told me many times growing up, “Two wrongs don’t make a right.” It is wrong for us to disrespect the Koran just because some Muslim countries outlaw the Bible.

This woman’s behavior and opinion is so disgusting and infantile to me. I feel sorry for people who have such anger. Though she doesn’t claim to be a Christian, comments lead me to believe that she probably considers herself one. As a Christian, I believe that Jesus called us to love even our enemies.

“You have heard that it was said, You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy;

But I tell you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.” Matthew 5:43-44

“And you shall love the Lord your God out of and with your whole heart and out of and with all your soul (your life) and out of and with all your mind (with your faculty of thought and your moral understanding) and out of and with all your strength. This is the first and principal commandment.

The second is like it and is this, You shall love your neighbor as yourself. There is no other commandment greater than these. Mark 12:30-31

Sender, sorry to vent, but you did forward this to me and I think that this much venom is counter-productive and damaging and it really angers me. So, you got a long response from another housewife, this one from Oregon.

My intention in posting this isn’t to embarrass the sender, but to share my thoughts and feelings with all of you. I feel very strongly about my opposition to this war. I spent a lot of time thoughtfully composing a rebuttal and it seemed right to share it with more than just the sender. I am angered at our current political and war situation and then after that it just turns into sorrow for all the lives lost and irrevocably changed.

This post is also timely because Angelina at Dustpan Alley has a new apron in her store. The peace apron. She is donating 15% of the profits to Moveon.org for their work towards peace. I don’t agree with everything that Moveon.org does, but I believe it is a better force than our administration and for that I have to root for them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

