Skip to content

March 2, 2007

Here is my garden plan. I don’t know that many gardeners in real life so I don’t know if everyone is as anal as I am in meticulously planning out the placement of plantings. I love the finished, colorful look of the plan when I am done though and it makes me feel good to look at it. My plan won’t mean much to you since you won’t know what all my symbols mean, but it looks so nice. The blue areas, though they look like mighty rivers are actually the footpaths.
Here is my crop list:
Basil
Bush Beans
Beets
Broccoli
Brussel Sprouts
Cabbage
Carrots
Cauliflower
Cilantro
Cucumber
Eggplant
Garlic
Leeks
Lettuce
Marjoram
Melons
Onions
Oregano
Parsley
Peas
Pumpkins
Peppers
Potatoes
Spinach
Sage
Squash and Zucchini
Swiss Chard
Tarragon
Thyme
Tomatoes
Winter Squash
I had celery on the list, but it hasn’t germinated yet so either: the seeds were too old (I bought them a couple of years ago, but hadn’t gotten around to using them, though there were stored well), I didn’t keep them warm enough to germinate, or they are just really, really slow in germinating, which is a possibility though it is a remote possibility at this point.
I am collecting lots of newspapers to start my experiment in weedless gardening this year. Luckily for me, The Oregonian gives you a four week trial subscription for free. I am enthusiastically taking advantage of this offer, along with saving our local newspaper that we already subscribe to.
I am itching to get my garden going this year. Lawrence always greets my enthusiasm with skepticism, because he knows that I already have a ton of stuff on my plate and he doubts my ability to give the garden the proper amount of attention that he thinks it will require (this is not such a far-fetched idea on his part), however, we have agreed that if my garden is successful this year we will add chickens next year and maybe even some berry canes; I have a good spot in mind for some raspberries. My poor garden, which was born three years ago, has been somewhat neglected the past two years, with Juliana’s surprise pregnancy and then birth, it really only got one good year of effort-the first year we created it. Lawrence gave me lots of help in tilling the grass under, leveling it and fencing it off. He has warned me that this year though, his involvement will only be as far as picking up my compost. I understand completely, he is so busy and likely business will only get busier as the weather gets nicer. It is also fine with me because we have different ideas of how a garden should look and function, so having him turn it over to me entirely is not a bad thing. Despite our difference in opinion, he will enjoy and congratulate me on the fruits of my labor, as he always does.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

