Skip to content

February 7, 2007

I made a delicious bread pudding the night before last. It was made with wheat bread and apples and drizzled with a brandy sauce. Yum! I should have taken a picture of it. Many of the blogs I read have pictures of food and I always think that I should photograph more of my cooking and baking, but I never get around to it. You will just have to take my word for how scrumptious it was.

Somehow my reading list, which is usually just a book or two that looked good at the library, has grown much larger. I have the following books in my possession and waiting to be devoured: Candide, Weedless Gardening, Mad Sheep: The True Story Behind The USDA’s War on a Family Farm, Nourishing Traditions, and Into Temptation. These area all library books, so that means I have three to six weeks to finish them. I have put Weedless Gardening and Nourishing Traditions on my to-buy list, though.

I would highly recommend Weedless Gardening to anyone who has a garden, especially if you are lazy or strapped for time. I’m only a third of the way through it, but it has expanded on some ideas that I already had, but couldn’t really find a way to glue them into an actual method. It has also gotten me excited about gardening again. I love gardening. I hate weeding. I need to use organic and natural methods as much as possible for my family’s consumption and also for the rest of the environment. I have been dreading gardening season because of the past couple of years of moderate neglect. Weeds have been accumulating rapidly and I haven’t been able to catch up with them, even with my mom’s help when she came out to visit last spring. Weedless Gardening has been so inspiring and I can’t wait to get out there now. The best thing about it besides the dramatic drop in weeds is that it creates a permaculture in your garden and you don’t need to use chemicals to get rid of weeds, which I don’t anyway, because it is really somthing that is important to me. Although, I did use Roundup on the arum in part of our yard last year as a last resort, but not where we grow food.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

