Skip to content

January 11, 2007

Two posts from me in one day is rare, I know. However, I have been having a myriad of random thoughts. Blame it on cleaning the bathroom. I don’t know why, but whenever I clean the bathroom, they just come streaming. Today was a more in-depth cleaning, so it was bound to happen. By in-depth I mean cleaning off the surface mold on the ceiling and walls and unclogging the sink and all the rest of the regular stuff in case you were wondering.

So, when I was cleaning the toilet my eye was drawn to our bathroom reading material and I wondered what that collection says about a person or family. Do you believe that your bathroom library reflects you? I’ll let you spy into my bathroom, here’s what I have in the upstairs bathroom:

Nov & Dec 2005 issues of Welding Journal
February 2006 Staples catalog
Nov 2005 issue of Intelligent Enterprise
a biography of Sartre
Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff, and It’s All Small Stuff
(inexplicably Middlemarch is missing from it’s regular resting spot atop of the toilet, though I found it in Maddy’s room on her bookshelf/nightstand. It’s clear she isn’t reading it. Why would she need it? Is she going to dare to use George Eliot for a paperweight or coaster? Have I taught her nothing?)

The downstairs bathroom:

July 1999, April 2004, May 2004, August 2004 issues of National Geographic
Feb 2004, Sept 2004, Oct 2004, Jan 2005, Feb 2005 issues of Popular Science
Morgan and Me
May/June 2006 issue of Family Foundations
April/May 2006 issue of Mother Earth News

What does this collection say about us? The first thing that jumps out at me is that we are clearly pack rats, holding onto years old issues. There is also a wide range of interests represented. A rather eclectic (I always feel that is a euphemism for schizophrenic) repertoire from office supplies to existentialist philosophy. Yep, that’s us. Weirdos.

Another thing that was on my mind was high school. I read recently that an old high school boyfriend (who shall remain anonymous for privacy’s sake) blames me for cursing his whole love life, the whole darn thing. Though I’m quite sure he was joking, at least I hope he was, I started wondering how much our high school experience affects us for our entire lives. If we weren’t in the in-crowd, do we always carry a feeling of inadequacy and wanting to belong? Do you ever really let go of first loves, best friends, enemies, even if you haven’t seen them in years? And the cliche, would you go back and do it again if you had the chance?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

