Skip to content

Thank you Mr. Diamond!

May 22, 2006

I owe Neil Diamond a debt of gratitude. The other night (I’m still recovering from the past couple of them) Juliana woke up at about 1:00 screaming and inconsolable. This is unusual for her, because she sleeps a long stretch at night and settles down immediately with nursing. I tried nursing, standing, swaying, Bach. I got some Hylands teething tablets and gave them to her and tried the above again, but she wasn’t having any of it. Finally I decided to turn on one of her favorites, though it is not necessarily appropriate for a mid-night waking. Sweet Caroline did the trick and after she settled down, I popped her into her sling, replayed Sweet Caroline and then laid my now sleeping, but still hiccupy-breathing babe back into bed where she slept for another couple of hours. I still don’t know what was bothering her. Was it gas or very intermittent teething? Who knows, but that Neil, he sure knows how to work the ladies.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

