Skip to content

June 20, 2005

An excellent article for former high school nerds/freaks.

Also, I must make a confession. I haven’t washed my hair with shampoo in more than a month. Is my hair nappy and disgusting you ask! No! I had heard that using baking soda and vinegar in place of shampoo and conditioner, respectively, was an excellent substitute. I was a bit skeptical about this claim, but, since I have an aversion to using products with sodium lauryl sulfate in them (and try to find a shampoo that doesn’t!), I decided that I would give it a go and just switch back to shampoo if my hair got too nasty. I was particularly doubtful because I have oily hair and have a difficult time finding a shampoo that will keep it clean. I was pleasantly surprised. Having first started my more natural hair odyssey by reducing my shampooing from every day to every other day, I continued with this schedule and use baking soda every other day and follow the soda with a vinegar rinse. The two combined do something to your hair’s PH. I must say that I am amazed. My hair is not greasy or gross. In fact, it looks healthier. It is shiny and I used to have these frizzy hairs along my part and on the top of my head which have all but disappeared and integrated themselves into the rest of my hair. So, I get crunchier and crunchier…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

