Skip to content

October 18, 2004

Can you believe that somebody stole our Kerry/Edwards sign out of our front yard on Saturday night? I even put it on the part of the yard in front of our backyard fence so that our dog’s barking would hopefully ward off a theft (there has been a rash of sign thefts in our town). They didn’t however steal our neighbor’s two Kerry signs, one of which was only about 10 feet away. Maybe Pepper’s barking was somewhat effective.

Lawrence has been working out of town this weekend, so I took the opportunity to watch a couple movies which had no appeal for him. Frankly, I thought they would be frivolous movies, too, but I ended up liking both of them quite well. 13 Going on 30 was funny, because growing up during the 80’s gives you an instant connection with the movie. I didn’t expect it to be deep at all, but it did make me reminisce about first love, our childhood dreams and the compromises we make as a adults that we never contemplated we would have to when we were 13. It was not a brilliant film to be sure, but it was enjoyable. Also, I think I have developed a crush on Mark Ruffalo. The second movie was Saved, which was wickedly funny. It was so strange to see McCauley Culkin in a role other than a cute, mischievous kid. Also, I am not a fan of Mandy Moore, but she played her role well. Growing up in a fundamentalist Christian atmosphere makes it all the funnier, because I can attest to the strange zealousness adopted by some.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

