Skip to content

Sigh…

June 29, 2004

I have refrained from going into political posts, even though it is the season. But with the release of Fahrenheit 9/11, I have to say something, even though I haven’t seen it yet, the time seems ripe. I have not been silent for lack of things to say. I have been silent for an over-abundance of feelings.

Feelings such as a mixture of disgust and heart-break everytime I hear of another casualty in this unrighteous war of ours; casualties like National Guardsman Erik McCrae, he was only 25. He graduated from the college here in our town. He was only married for 3 weeks before he shipped out. He died trying to rescue fellow soldiers from a bombed Humvee. There are hundreds of other stories like 1st Lt. Erik McCrae, to think about all of them would be unbearably sad.

Horror when I hear about the beheading of another captive.

Outrage when I hear that officials from the Carlyle group (with incestuous ties to the Bush administration) are contracted with the Saudi Binladen Corporation (yep, Osama’s relatives).

Shock when I hear the inevitable abuses of our “Patriot” Act. Like Portland lawyer Brandon Mayfield who was held by the FBI for 2 weeks as a material witness in the March train bombing in Spain. They were holding him based on finding his fingerprint near the bombing. Problem was, it wasn’t his print. There was a mismatch. The FBI holds him for two weeks, releases him and apologizes. At least he got an apology…that will probably make up for his family’s anguish, his fear of prosecution in Spain and the possibility of execution should he have been found guilty.

Not to mention the lack of WMD, the entire reason we pre-emptively invaded a sovereign nation.

I could go on and on, but these examples are only a drop in the bucket.

But here is my moral dilemma. For whom do I vote? Obviously Bush is out of the question, so my dilemma is between Kerry and Michael Badnarik. My dilemma involves these issues: Should I vote Democrat, which I am not and don’t generally agree with their platform, or the whole concept of a two-party system (two parties make it much easier to breed corruption, in my opinion). Or do I stand by my principle and my party and vote Libertarian, which some may think is a wasted vote. It is a wasted vote, in a way, but it is also really important to send a message to the powers that be that not everyone is happy with the current system. On the other hand, there is no way in hell that Nader or Badnarik are going to win, and I shudder at the thought of another four years under Bush. While I don’t think it will a whole lot better under Kerry, I imagine that it would not be quite so bad.

At least I have 4 1/2 months to decide.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

