Skip to content

Handmade Christmas 2011

January 4, 2012

I realize that it’s sad that only two posts ago I was posting Handmade Christmas 2010.  Life has been busy.  Though I have had a couple substantial, ideological posts swirling in my head for months, I just haven’t had the time or the real desire to sit down and put them up here.  I don’t know that I’m ready to open myself up to regular posting again.

This year, I decided to focus on scarves for my children, except the baby, because when we go out he’s either snuggled up in the car seat with a hat and blanket if we are in the car, or snuggled up next to my warm body in the Ergo or my arms if we are not in the car.  Though he didn’t get a scarf, his oldest sister crocheted two fantastic hats for him, which deserve a blog post all their own.

For my oldest daughter, I decided to do her scarf in a single color and I found a lovely scarf with open-work and a matching pattern for a pair of fingerless gloves.  Forget the Scarf and Forget the Fingers were both very easy to follow and entirely of double crochet.  The gloves whipped up very quickly.  I did the pair in less than an hour.  The scarf wasn’t quite that fast.

If you look closely, you can see the gloves on either side of the scarf.

For my second daughter I chose to do a scarf in black and red, which are her favorite colors.  I used the Neat Ripple pattern, which I have also used in a baby blanket.  I adjusted the pattern to make horizontal stripes.  This pattern always crochets up very quickly.  I had an issue with the color arrangement.  I had intended to do a random stripe width pattern, but after I started on my second color, I realized that it is very difficult to do a random pattern when you are working with only two colors and in the relatively small space of a scarf.  So, the initial strip is three rows tall whereas the others are one and two rows tall and it looks slightly off to me, but my daughter loves it.  When I finished the ripple pattern, it looked like it was missing something, so I did a black single crochet edging with picots in the peaks and valleys of the ripples.

For my youngest daughter I chose many colors.  She loves to dress in crazy patterns.  She might have on flowered tights, plaid skirt and a different flowery shirt some days.  This Scrapadelic Scarf just screamed her name when I saw it.  Because it was simple straight rows of half-double crochet, it was super quick; the quickest of the three.  That left me with a little time to do a repair job that has been sitting on my desk for nearly two years.  For Christmas of 2009, I made my two younger daughters chullos.  Shortly after, an incident ensued in which the yellow and purple chullo was left outside in the yard with a certain dog who did a decent job of chewing up the ties, pompoms and several lower rows of stitches.  Since I had altered the original pattern, I just couldn’t find the motivation to go back and try to figure out how to make it look like it originally looked.  Two years of sitting on my desk and looking at it can really lower expectations for a repair job and I was just determined to get it back into wearable shape.  I ripped out all of the damaged rows and ear-flaps and grabbed a hook that looked like it would make stitches of approximately the same size.  I grabbed the yarns that I used in her scarf and I added several rows, new ear-flaps and new ties.  It turned out that the hook I made was slightly larger than the original, but it ended up fine since her head has grown.  The ties are not the same as the originals and she didn’t get pompoms, but she did get braided ties with fringe that go nicely with the braided fringe on her new scarf.  They look like an ensemble now and most importantly, she was ecstatic to have her hat back and a matching scarf.  They look perfect on her.

My boy did not get a handmade gift from me.  I will have to start earlier next year.  Good thing he won’t remember!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    January 4, 2012 8:10 pm

    I would say you have had your hands too full to be blogging much. You did a fantastic job on their scarves.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

